Staff Sgt. Juan Quinones

p1973832983-o771225337-5

I was born in San Juan Puerto Rico and began to play the trumpet at 5 years old. I come from a family with an old tradition in music. When I was 13 I started to work as a professional musician in the Latin music industry. My music background comes from pop to jazz music. I Had the blessing to work as a studio trumpet player and lead singer in the Latin music scene in Puerto Rico, Miami, New York and Latin America.

Teachers:

Miguel Pena, Roberto Rodriguez, Al Hood, Antonio Zalcedo, Cuco Pena, Mark Wood, Alberto De La Reguera.

Influences:

Latin Music, Pop, Hip Hop, Jazz, Classical, African, Afro Cuban.

When did you join the Army?  

2012

5D319262

Current Projects:

Arranging new music for the BHB, on call studio musician NY City

 What are you working on?

New compositions for audio network music library, and producing my first solo album

IMG_6696

I knew I wanted to be a musician when…

I knew I wanted to be a musician the first time my parents took me to a Latin gig back in Puerto Rico where I was born. I was around 4 or 5 years old. My dad, who is also a musician, introduced me to a few percussion instruments and a started banging on them. I still remember the joy and feeling going through my veins.

An Army performance highlight: 

Around 6 months after I arrived to my first unit which was The Army Ground Forces Band, I had the opportunity to perform a duo piece with one of my trumpet player idols, Allen Vizzutti. Mr. Vizzutti was invited to play 2 shows and do a master class with the band and I was featured with him in a tune called VizBiz. I’m always grateful for the Army and the opportunity to do stuff like that at such a high level of professionalism.

