Sgt. First Class Carla Loy Song

p2090864391-o771225337-4

I come from a family full of musicians, so I’ve been singing all my life. I gained interest in the Army music program after my sister joined the Army Band’s “Pershing’s Own” in Washington, D.C. when I was just beginning college.  It was because of her influence that I steered my education and experiences to possibly become a musician in one of the Premier Bands of the Armed Forces.

I joined Army and the West Point Band as a trumpet player in the Concert Band in 2007. A highlight of my time in the CB was playing with the New York Philharmonic at Avery Fisher Hall on their Independence Day concert in 2008. The joint “Stars and Stripes Forever” alongside some of the most respected musicians in the orchestral world was such an exciting musical moment for me.

Teachers:

Ed Cord, Chris Gekker (Trumpet) Michael Redding, Leah Trigg, Elaine Moebius (Voice)

Influences:

Many members of my family have influenced my love for music. My parents and older sisters are probably my biggest influences. I also have two uncles who are/were trumpet players, one of whom was an Army musician, and my grandfather also played jazz piano while in the Army during WWII.

When did you join the Army?

Summer 2007

What are some of your extra duties?

I love meeting and working with new people, which is a great fit for my extra duty job of the West Point Band Guest Artist Coordinator. The West Point Band has brought in a number of amazing guest musicians and conductors while I’ve been doing this job, and I love meeting them and learning about their careers outside the Army.

I’m also lucky that I get the opportunity to sing with the Benny Havens Band even though I was hired to play the trumpet in the West Point Band. I love to sing, and feel very fortunate to be able to share that talent with the Corps of Cadets.

21192637596_764eaaa440_o

 An Army performance highlight:

Some highlights include singing with the Benny Havens Band during halftime of a few Army football games and performing for Ambassador Power, the US Ambassador to the UN, and getting her to sing along with the band into my microphone.

Dream Group:

The West Point Band’s Benny Havens Band

Did you know?

While I often dream about cashing in a big tournament like the World Series of Poker, I did win a tournament at the Bellagio in Las Vegas – my husband took 2nd place. 🙂

23449045416_7e98a4739b_o

 


 

 

 

 

