philtbonepic

SSG Phil Stehly

Short BIO:

I grew up in Kansas City, Mo. I attended Indiana University from 2000-2005, graduating with a Bachelor of Music degree.

Teachers:

Roger Oyster (Kansas City Symphony), Dee Stewart (IU), and Peter Ellefson (IU)

Influences:

The Beatles, Ben Folds, John Williams, Joseph Alessi, Christian Lindberg, and countless peers and colleagues, both from college and here in the band.

When did you join the Army?

May of 2005

Current Projects:

I’ve been teaching myself guitar for the past several years.

What are you working on (i.e. pieces of music, arrangements, techniques you’re practicing, other music projects)? 

I’m working on a combination of original trombone music (Rochut etudes, Tomasi Concerto, Creston Fantasy), and vocal pieces that work well on trombone (various pieces by Mahler, Verdi, and Brahms)

What do you enjoy doing off-duty?

Hanging out with my wife, our two kids, and our dog. I also enjoy reading, writing, cooking, Kansas City Chiefs football, and New Jersey Devils hockey.

I knew I wanted to be a musician when…

IMG_3921

I discovered The Beatles in 5th grade.

An Army performance highlight:

Conductor’s Workshop 2012 in Poughkeepsie. We performed Grainger’s Lincolnshire Posy under Michael Haithcock (University of Michigan.) It is my favorite piece in the band repertoire and we performed it at a remarkably high level.

Did you know? 

For most of my life, I’ve been unable to eat any raw fruits/vegetables due to allergic reactions. Two years ago, my doctor at West Point referred me to an allergist, where I was diagnosed with Oral Allergy Syndrome. I’ve been receiving allergy shots ever since. As of one year ago, I’ve been able to eat raw fruits and vegetables without incident. I feel born again! Fruit is awesome, especially pears.

