MSG Brian Broelmann

Kid's Night with Quintette 7

Master Sergeant Brian Broelmann joined the West Point Band as a saxophonist in 2001. He holds degrees in music education and music performance from the Crane School of Music at SUNY Potsdam. Master Sgt. Broelmann is a founding member of the West Point Band’s Quintette 7.

Teachers:

Dr. Timothy McAllister (saxophone)

Mr. Robert Faub (saxophone)

Influences:

A little bit of everything.

Kid's Night with Quintette 7

When did you join the Army?

I joined the Army in the summer of 2001. After finishing my first year of teaching public school music, I realized needed to pursue a different career path. I was fortunate enough to win a position in the West Point Concert Band’s saxophone section, and it was an easy decision to take the job. Despite a stressful Basic Training experience, which included training during the events of September 11, 2001, I have been proud to serve our Nation ever since enlisting. It is my hope to continue serving the Nation in the West Point Band for years to come.

Current Projects:

A little bit of everything. Working with a team designing the program for the West Point Holiday Show; practicing parts for the Alumni Glee Club concert, the CSA Ethics Conference, and Kids Night; working on instrumental technique (scales, patterns, chord voicings); building repertoire for background/cocktail gigs.

2015-06-30 Astoria-TO-004

What do you enjoy doing off-duty?

When I am not on duty I enjoy bicycling, running and practicing any of a number of instruments. I have also been known to make giant latch-hook rug portraits of people I find interesting or inspiring.

I knew I wanted to be a musician when…

Over time, my definition of what it means to be a musician has changed, so it is hard to identify a catalyzing moment in which I determined, “I will be a musician.” In elementary school, I may have had daydreams of being in a rock band. In middle school, I may have convinced myself that teaching music was what I wanted to do. In high school, l I may have thought I could be some kind of performer (jazz saxophone? Speed metal bass?). Through college, I may have been preparing myself for a career as school teacher or a classical saxophone soloist or a university intellectual. More recently, I may have decided that I would like to be a musician that can accompany others in any setting and make a soloist feel at ease. I would like to be a competent sideman that is an asset to others. The kind of musician that can not only get the job done, but others are glad to see is on the job. So in short, I decided a couple of months ago that I want to be a musician.

Trophy Point: Labor Day Celebration

An Army performance highlight:

One of my Army performance highlights (there are many) did not include performing music myself. Not too long ago I had the honor of serving as a member of a two-person flag detail for a veteran’s funeral. The gentleman who had passed away was a veteran of World War II. It was an incredibly profound experience to present the flag of our Nation to the next of kin of one of our veterans who had given his service at such a meaningful time in our history. It is a memory that will always remain with me.

Did you know?

When I was in college I played bass in a band that mostly covered songs by the Dave Matthews Band. Occasionally we would branch out and cover other material. I had the honor of providing vocals for our cover of the Digital Underground’s “The Humpty Dance.” At the time I could imitate Humpty exactly.

2015-08-15 BHB Country Music Night-006

